Tags

I was just nominated for the Liebster Award for thought provoking material by Leander42. I heartily accept, thank you.

So here goes…

RULE 1: Thank your nominator and include a link back to their blog ( above )

RULE 2: Provide your own nominations for the award :

Nominations:

(again no particular order)

SpiritualSavant A preacher, while I disagree with him with many things, has some excellent material

The Prime Directive An anti-natalist, anarchist, and atheist blog.

Consentient Wonderful articles about freedom, and anarchy.

Entitio Sovrano Articles as delightful as those of Consentient’s.

Gigoid Always has an ‘odd’ but delightful collection of thoughts and quotes

Triangulations Very thought provoking posts about religion, atheism, and the why’s between them.

There are others I’d love to list, but I think this is a good number. I’ll still sneak in mentions of
kvenna ráð Marie Marshall’s delightful little poem pieces
Jaywalking the Moon Another excellent poetess!

EXTRA RULE: Question Time:

1. If you could invite a celebrity or historical figure to dinner, who would it be?

Samuel Clemens, the after-dinner drinks and smoke (though I don’t smoke ) would be most entertaining.

2. If you knew it was your last day on earth, how would you spend it?

If there was any way to change it, I’d try to make it not my last day. Otherwise, I’d
make a quick (and fully amendable) amendable bucket list. It might contain at least the following :

2a) Put two pots of delicious coffee in Thermos’s to drink through the day to not be bothered by fatigue, so that I would not go gentle into that good night.

2b) If my wake video is complete, make sure that it is in the right hands. I know what I want to do with it, just need to get started.

2c) Hug each immediate family member for as long as they need.

2d) Take a stack of religious writings to the state capitol, announce myself, and after the cameras are rolling, show the inventory, all the while stating that I am an atheist in a figurative foxhole, death is nothing to be afraid of.

2e) Start a run on a large bank.

2f) Jog through a popular place, naked, orating on the principles of freedom.

2g) Tell everyone I see that day, older than myself, that they are loved, but today is my day to die.

2h) Kiss the two most beautiful women in the world. ( My wife and my daughter )

2i) Spend the end of the day, alone, at a campfire, reading and reciting great poetry. Such as Frost’s “Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening”. Write an amended version of the same.

(not necessarily in this order, of course)

3. Who is your favourite fictional character and why?

Francisco d’Anconia, from Atlas Shrugged. He is a man that could do anything and find humor even in the direst of situations, because he knows things will always change.

4. What’s the first thing you ever bought with your own money?

I don’t remember. I do think my first earned money was selling Christmas cards.

5. What is the hardest thing you have ever done?

Learning that superstition and negative emotional baggage aren’t necessary for living a satisfied life.

6. If you could offer the 12 year-old you a piece of advice, what would you say?

Telling him the answer to #5.

7. What would be your perfect holiday destination and who would you take?

The edge of where man has gone, the Moon, or Mars. Christopher Hitchens.

8. What was the last book you read and how was it for you?

The last great book I read was “Guns, Germs, and Steel” by Jared Diamond. It presented an evolutionary idea that made the sweeping advances of civilization understandable (and not by the prejudices of race either). I am amazed no one had thought of these ideas before.

9. If you could exist without sleeping or food, which one would you give up?

Sleeping – More time to do all those things I want to do.

10. You have to give up one thing from your life right now – what will it be?

I’d say my extra body weight, though Leander42’s answer is great : I’d give up giving up things.

11. Glass half-full or glass half-empty? Are you a pessimist or an optimist?

Half-full. Tend to be optimistic, but there is that little streak of pessimism that remains from dealing with my fellow men (at times).

